Even an amateur professional can get published!

Good news, everyone!  The newest Twit Publishing Anthology is coming out this week!

Twit Publishing Presents: PULP! Winter/Spring 2012

Look at this magnificent bastard.

That’s right, Twit Publishing Presents: PULP! Winter/Spring 2012 is soon to be published in both paperback and e-book form.  One of my short stories, “Blowing Off Some Steam,” has been selected to appear in the new anthology, and recently conducted research studies have revealed that this latest anthology is overall 75% more awesome than the last one (notwithstanding my inclusion).

As a special promotional offer to celebrate the new release of PULP!, you (yes, you!) can win a signed and personalized 8″x10″ glossy black and white photograph of yours truly wearing nothing but a tube sock!  Simply respond to this post and I’ll select the winner randomly by putting the names into a hat filled with catnip.  The piece of paper that survives the resultant onslaught from my herd of cats will be our lucky winner!

In all seriousness, I am incredibly proud to be featured in this new anthology with the rest of my fellow authors.  Twit Publishing is a great start-up publishing house with some amazingly talented writers.  Not only that, but Twit is devoted to making their fiction as accessible as possible by keeping their e-book prices affordable while also offering paperback editions as well.  As book prices have been getting out of hand for several years, I can tell you I appreciate the effort; trust me, I worked in an independent bookseller for over half a decade and I watched hardcover and paperback prices creep up to the point where $20 for a trade paperback (and $40 for a hardcover) was not uncommon.

The truly important thing is that it’s not about the money with Twit.  Yes, they’re selling these anthologies for cash (and yes I get a cut of each sale), but it’s more about creating and encouraging a forum for genre fiction with a pulp twist in an industry where Generic James Patterson Novel #74 or those horrible Stephenie Meyer books are the norm.  If you’re a fan of old school genre fiction from the likes of Robert A. Heinlein, Ray Bradbury, Zane Grey, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Raymond Chandler, and HP Lovecraft, or anyone with similar writing styles, there’s something in each and every one of these anthologies that you’re going to enjoy.

Do yourself a favor – download an e-reader app on your smartphone or something and pick up one of the old anthologies.  The Kindle editions are less than a buck.  If there’s not at least one story in there that you don’t enjoy, I will send you a dollar back.

But I won’t have to.  You know why?  Because you’re going to love it.  Next thing you know, you’ll be buying the other Kindle editions.  Then, when the new one comes out, you might even buy that one too.  Maybe even the paperback one.

Please do.  You won’t be sorry.  And I guarantee I won’t be out a dollar.

7 thoughts on “Even an amateur professional can get published!

  1. I’ll definitely check it out. I always wanted to write a good story, but I’m way too spastic and unoriginal to do so….besides, my storytelling sucks. I look forward to being in the running for a tube sock picture, my sister’s a Chili Peppers fan….

  2. Pingback: The flop sweat must flow, you Harkonnen dog! « Amateur Professional

  3. Pingback: Who’s the BOSS? « Amateur Professional

Leave a Reply

