Brandon Keener is fucking awesome.

I'm Commander Shepard and this is my favorite voice actor in the Mass Effect series.

This is Brandon Keener. He is fucking awesome.

It’s no secret that I have a serious man-crush on one Garrus Vakarian.  However, there’s one very important facet of the character that I’ve left out: Brandon Keener, the man who brings our favorite Turian agent to life.  In addition to being a very popular voice actor for the video game industry (kind of a modern-day Cam Clarke), Mr. Keener does plenty of live-action roles as well, and I was absolutely thrilled to see him on “Castle” last night as a panicked murder witness who was convinced he’d been bitten by a zombie.  In what had to be one of the best television freak-outs I’ve ever seen, Castle and Beckett break into his apartment only to find Keener’s character had handcuffed himself to his radiator, and he pleads with them to “put him down when he turns.”  I nearly pissed myself.

Scoped and dropped.  Your move, Vakarian.

This is Nathan Fillion holding a replica of the sniper rifle from Halo. Your argument is invalid.

I’ve already gone on about how ABC’s Castle is one of the best shows on television before.  You’ve got Nathan Fillion in his best role since Captain Hammer, the show is practically dripping with enough geek cred to choke a sleestak to death, and now there exists a universe where Mal Reynolds meets Garrus Vakarian.  I really can’t properly express how much joy this brings me without bursting into song, so I’m not even going to try.

The funny thing about Brandon Keener is that almost everyone has seen and heard him at one time or another, most likely without knowing it. He’s been doing commercials for years – in fact, one of those commercials even played during one of the breaks in tonight’s Castle episode.  Take a look (and listen close):

 

If this is wrong I don't want to be right.

This is just one of the many commercials in which Keener has appeared.  He’s done television and radio spots for years, and I can only hope that he’s getting more exposure thanks to his amazing voice work as Garrus across the three Mass Effect games, and not only because he’s an excellent actor – from every interview I’ve ever read, he just seems like a really down-to-earth, easygoing guy – the kind of person that deserves success in his career.

Though the thing is, every time I see him or hear him in anything, I just picture Garrus doing voice-over work on human television.  I just can’t figure out how they filter his voice to make a turian sound human.

6 thoughts on “Brandon Keener is fucking awesome.

  1. That commercial makes me snort. I’ve never heard of Castle, but I’m kind of out of the loop when it comes to television….

    • It’s a fun show. The concept is that a best selling crime author goes and hangs out with an NYPD homicide division in order to research a new book series. He ends up helping them solve murders and basically just gets underfoot.

      They make him wear a Kevlar vest with WRITER across it instead of NYPD.

  2. Pingback: Because that dead horse hasn’t been beaten enough. « Amateur Professional

Leave a Reply

