Up next: a look back.

This past weekend was just chock-full of fun and interesting stuff to tell you all about, but for the interest of brevity there’s no way I’m going to squeeze it all into one 2,500 word blog post.  I simply don’t have the patience (or the time!) for that.

Instead, have a sneak preview of what’s coming up later on in the week:

I wonder if the cuffs match the collar.

111,700 strands of curly red hair. About 20 minutes of story.

Disney/Pixar’s BraveThe fiancée and I saw it this weekend, and I’ve got a lot to say about it.  It’s a solid film, but it doesn’t stand out nearly as strong as earlier Pixar entries like Up, which has to be one of my favorites.  Most noteworthy criticism I have is that the movie is more like a two-hour demo reel for how well Pixar can animate hair than it is anything else, and things like coherent storytelling kind of take a backseat.

I can't find my pants.

Pure sex.

Angry Orchard Apple Ginger Hard Cider.  In addition to seeing Brave this weekend, we were paid a visit by an old friend of mine – someone I’ve known since our undergrad days together at SUNY New Paltz – and we all celebrated Saturday evening.  In preparation, we had gone out and purchased a case of a new hard cider that some local friends had introduced to us a couple of weeks ago, and this stuff is so good it deserves its own post, supplemented by stories of drunken antics that may or may not be completely accurate.

I can't think of a good joke for white wine.

Perhaps some rohypnol red?

David Hyde Pierce plays crazy.  About 1 AM on Sunday morning, the three of us decided to stream The Perfect Host on Netflix, the David Hyde Pierce crime noir/psychological horror/dark comedy mashup film that simply defies any sort of quick or straightforward discussion.  Long story short is that it’s an awful lot like Brave, except that instead of it being a movie about well-animated hair, it’s a movie about well-acted crazy.  David Hyde Pierce is both hysterical and frightening, and it’s totally worth a watch despite some ham-handed M. Night Shyamalan-style twists.

DO NOT SUE ME.  I HAVE NO MONEY.

This may or may not be an image from the document.

The Microsoft Next-Gen Console Internal Document Leak.  This, ladies and gentlemen, is the big one.  I actually have to look into the legality behind whether or not I can discuss this, but what I can say is that there was an alleged leak this weekend over at Microsoft of a document  purportedly containing internal information about the new “Xbox 720” console’s system specs, marketing strategies through 2015, and a new peripheral called “Project Fortaleza.”  I may or may not have obtained a copy of this document, and I may or may not be able to go into detail regarding the information that could be contained within said document.  As long as there’s little to no true danger of being hijacked by corporate thugs and waterboarded in a basement in Redmond, Washington, I’ll spill the beans.

Hope you’ve enjoyed this little preview of the week!  Prepare yourself for the onslaught.

9 thoughts on “Up next: a look back.

  1. Angry Orchard is awesome stuff. We’ve been hooked on it for about a year or so. You should also check out Hardcore Cider, which is pretty awesome as well. I haven’t tried the apple ginger AO, since I’ve heard from some fellow cider fans that it’s not as good, but the crisp apple one is wicked stuff!

    • The apple ginger is nice and mild, with just a tiny bit of a bite of ginger at the very end. Great at the end of one of these hot as balls days, and Pam loves ’em – which is very rare for her. I definitely would like to try some of their other stuff for maybe some stronger flavors, though!

  2. I love me some angry orchard. never tried the apple ginger for the same reason PNG mentioned, but perhaps I might give it a go next time I head out to the distributor 😉

    I don’t care if Brave is just about hair. I wanna see it 😉

  3. Down here we have Leprechaun Cider. It’s a dry, champagne like cider that comes in at a whopping 8-9% ABV. Stuff’ll put you on your backside.

    On a side note, let me officially say I’m happy people are drinking cider again (the official alcoholic beverage of the founding fathers). If you haven’t read about the real Johnny Appleseed, here’s a short version: http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/2141/whats-the-story-with-johnny-appleseed

Leave a Reply

