I’m getting too black for this shit.

It's a condiment, not a fucking entrée.

Fine dining.

Well, the good news is my computer is finally up and running again, thanks to a hasty trip to Best Buy and a decent price on a new GTX 550 Ti.  The bad news?  It’s going to be Top Ramen and ketchup sandwiches for a while until our finances recover.

There’s nothing more absolutely demoralizing than having to face the fact that the solution to your problem is painfully out of reach.  I’ve been dealing with a faulty video card for so long that it was starting to feel like it was never going to be resolved because it was just impossible to scrape together an extra $100 or so  for a decent upgrade – especially since I wasn’t going to waste money on a downgrade just to have to spend even more cash on another card sometime in the future.

There's a hair metal joke in here somewhere.

Only the best advice.

Your mind ends up warping after being placed under constant moderate stress for so long.  No, I’m not going to sit here and claim that having a malfunctioning computer for months gave me post-traumatic stress disorder – I might be an asshole, but I’m not a fucking asshole – but there were times where I would be so goddamned despondent at the prospect of wrestling with my computer for hours just so I could actually get some work done for some clients that I quite literally beat my head against my desk in frustration.

Still, I can’t deny the fact that there are going to be consequences for going out and spending the money I needed to in order to solve this problem.  I don’t relish the conversation I now have to have with my landlord about why I’m going to be a little short on rent this month, nor do I look forward to having to double down for a few weeks to make up the shortfall – especially when I’ve already got bills that I need to pay coming up, not to mention budgeting for trips out to New York to do more wedding preparations.  The fact that gasoline is nearly $4 a gallon right now makes me very grateful that my car gets pretty good mileage

The upside to this whole insanity is that don’t have to be afraid to turn on my computer every morning any more – I can just sit down and get to work.  Hopefully this will allow me to take on some extra clients to build up a little bit of a cushion to help give me a bit more peace of mind.  Well, that, and at least I’ll be able to play Guild Wars 2 now without my computer vomiting all over itself and trying to jump out the window every 20 minutes.

3 thoughts on “I’m getting too black for this shit.

    • I know, I’m sorry. I’ve been letting everyone down by not being around in game, but now with this new card I don’t have to worry about having to reset my computer every 20 minutes!

Leave a Reply

