The home stretch.

It's probably just New Jersey.

That better not be an oncoming train.

The fiancée and I are once more making the trip down to Long Island today, this time for the final round of pre-wedding business. This will mark the last time we’ll be doing so before the actual week of the wedding, so it’s kind of like a “light at the end of the tunnel” situation, and it really can’t come any sooner at this point.

Painfully accurate.

I really don’t know what’s going to give out first when it comes to this wedding: my sanity or my bank account.  These constant trips through Pennsyltucky, the wilds of northern Jersey, and then the wasteland that is New York City are crippling; it feels like we spend more time in the car than we do outside of it.  I certainly can’t remember the last time I got a decent night’s sleep, and don’t get me started on the gas-and-tolls situation!  At least gas is cheap in New Jersey, though “cheap” is usually somewhere in the realm of $3.55 a gallon – as long as you pay cash.

Furry little dictators.

Yes, Master.

I feel especially bad for being away from home so much recently because of our cats.  We always make sure to leave plenty of food and water, and luckily we have friends nearby that can check in on them from time to time and take care of the litter box, but I still have that nagging feeling of guilt for leaving them, especially when it’s multiple weekends in a row.  At least we don’t have to worry about taking care of dogs.  Don’t get me wrong: I absolutely love dogs as much as I do cats, but they’re nowhere near as self-reliant.  Thank goodness for small favors, I suppose!

Fuck you for giving me agita, Weather Channel!

The Zone of Fuck.

At any rate, this is me apologizing in advance if weekend posts are few and far between while we rush around getting the last of our affairs in order.  Next week will be better, as we won’t need to leave home for anything except Legacy’s final event of the season on the 2nd of November, which will be a welcome break before diving back in to the whole wedding thing.  That is, of course, if Hurricane Sandy doesn’t wipe us off the face of the earth next week.  Not that I don’t have enough to worry about!

One thought on “The home stretch.

Leave a Reply

