“Artificial Difficulty” my ass: why Dark Souls isn’t nearly as hard as people bitch about.

OH NO I DIED THIS GAME SUCKS

Quit crying and get back in there, you nancy.

I picked up Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition in the Holiday Steam Sale, considering it was 50% off and I’d been wanting to play it for a while now.  I was hesitant at first, considering how much flak the game has gotten for “artificial difficulty,” but after playing it for several hours I’ve realized that people are full of shit.

Worst "game" ever.

And neither should you.

Maybe it’s just the casualization of the video gaming industry, what with Angry Birds and Farmville and all that happy horseshit, but I really didn’t see what the big deal is with the difficulty of Dark Souls.  Sure, it’s got a bit of a learning curve and there’s minimal hand-holding in the form of checkpoints or an on-screen map or heads-up display, but I really don’t see why people continue to bitch about the difficulty of this game; maybe I’m just an old fart but I remember the “classic” era of NES games that didn’t have any of that extra crap and I’m already acclimated to games with minimalist presentation when it comes to mechanics.

GOD DAMMIT NOT AGAIN

Common expression after getting raped in Ninja Gaiden.

The trial-and-error approach that Dark Souls adopts – where you can die over and over again with really no repercussions besides a loss of time – is nothing new under the sun; in fact it’s been a reliable game mechanic for decades.  The NES and SNES era of gaming featured trial-and-error game play almost exclusively, especially the action game genre, and if anyone’s going to complain about how Dark Souls is artificially difficult because it’s a veritable meat grinder of death, then they need to spend a few hours with the original Ninja Gaiden NES game, or maybe a couple of Mega Man games – or a copy of Ghosts ‘n’ Goblins.  Man, you’re lucky to get out of that one with your underwear; at least in Dark Souls when you get smacked by an enemy your clothes don’t fall off.

FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK FUCK

God damned skeletons.

In other words, all I’m saying is that gamers of this generation need to suck it up.  If you don’t want a challenging game and you’d rather play Mass Effect 3 for the plot, go ahead; I’ll be peeling my bloody corpse up from the floor over and over again until I figure out how to get through Dark Souls in one piece.  Hell, I got to the end of Castlevania – I can do this in my sleep.  Now quit being a pansy and drop and give me twenty.

And before you get all indignant and leave me a nasty comment: I never said I was any good at it, or that I’m not dying left and right, too.  The difference between me and someone else is that I’m not gonna bitch about it like a little girl.  For fuck’s sake, I’ve beaten cancer – you think I’m scared of Dark Souls?

6 thoughts on ““Artificial Difficulty” my ass: why Dark Souls isn’t nearly as hard as people bitch about.

  1. I was tempted to play it, but as I’m not blessed with an abundance of free time, I try to avoid games with tons of trial and error gameplay. The only truly punishing game I’ve played this generation was Ninja Gaiden Sigma. All others are pretty much easy, which I’ve mentioned to other gamers just as you have. If I can blow through the latest FPS in about 8-10 hours, then it’s not overly difficult, but also keep in mind that the biggest difference here is controls. Controls on NES, Genesis, and SNES were punishingly unforgiving. The delays in response times were killer. But you’re right, let kids these days beat bionic commando before bitching about hard games.

Leave a Reply

