Just like falling off a warhorse.

It’s official: the wife and I are returning to the wild, wooly world of LARP.  Well, at least for this weekend anyway.

Last year I chronicled my experiences as a first-time LARPer as I went to Legacy, a live-action role playing game held one weekend a month at the Faire Play camp in Montrose, Pennsylvania.  I had a fantastic time, but I knew it would be quite some time before we could return.  I’m especially looking forward to one day introducing our little girl to LARP once she gets older; of course our daughter was nearly born at Faire Play, so you could say it runs in her blood.

I didn’t anticipate being able to go back any time soon, but it turns out my parents had this weekend free and they were wiling to come up and watch our daughter while the wife and I dress up like Renaissance Faire weirdos and get packets of birdseed thrown at us for 48 hours straight.  I’m a little nervous to be going back considering we’ve missed four and a half events – I have no idea what’s been happening in game or where the overall storyline has headed in our absence – but it will be worth it just to see the friends we made over the course of 2012 and haven’t been able to keep in contact with since the birth of our daughter and our subsequent move.

Of course there’s also been a huge influx of new players to Legacy.  This means a whole slew of new players that I really don’t know from a hole in the ground.  It’s an opportunity to make some more friends, which is always something that both excites me and scares the hell out of me at the same time. On top of that, I’ll be bringing a new character to life this weekend since I intentionally killed off my original one last April.  I didn’t want to leave him hanging for months or years at a time – it was nice to know I had the first character at Legacy that permanently died, but it was still a little bittersweet.  Unfortunately I didn’t get a death scene, since the wife went into labor at around 1 in the morning on Saturday!

This weekend we won’t have to worry about that, though.  Our daughter will be in the very capable hands of my parents (who jumped at the chance to spend some alone time with their only granddaughter), paving the way for our triumphant return.  I can only hope that this new character of mine turns out to be as much fun to play as the first one!

1d4+1, bitches!

2 thoughts on “Just like falling off a warhorse.

Leave a Reply

