Meh.

The Electronics Entertainment Expo, or E3 to those sweaty, unwashed neckbearded types that are too busy polishing their fedoras to type out completely, is this week. Despite this I just can’t seem to find any fucks to give about it.

 Normally, a new E3 is cause for celebration, especially since I’m an unrepentant geek with a massive fan-boner for video games of more or less all types (save those EA Sports shit shows. Those can eat a dick). Last year’s E3 was pretty exciting for me, but this year I just can’t seem to gather anything resembling enthusiasm.

I think the main reason behind this is that I know that 90 percent of the trade show’s content this year is going to focus on those next-gen consoles. It won’t be long before my Xbox 360 turns into a glorified doorstop. It’s certainly not the end of the world considering my game backlog already – I’ve got enough content to play through until doomsday, if I ever get a chance to – but I’m certainly not that enthusiastic about keeping up with news coverage that’s going to focus on two consoles I don’t even have and that I won’t be picking up any time soon.

It’s not even that they’re particularly expensive, either, especially since there’s a new Kinect-free version of the Xbox One that’s priced at the same level as the PlayStation 4, and they’re both cheap enough to save up for and buy for the holidays. I just… can’t seem to summon any excitement. Who knows; hopefully I’ll run across something this week from the ubiquitous E3 coverage that will tickle my fancy but I’m certainly not going to hold my breath. I’d love to be proven wrong, though – so let me know if you guys see anything that looks absolutely amazeballs and I’ll check it out. For now, what can I say besides “meh?”

Meh.

One thought on “Meh.

  1. I know how you feel to an extent. But I’m excited for, Destiny, uncharted 4, and a few others. Watchdogs was a big let down… So far the whole next gen thing has been more to do with hype, as its clear that the industry is timid about going balls deep into the next gen since most next gen games so far have been very lackluster. Or in the case of watch dogs, basically a last gen game ported to next gen…

    Gone are the days when next gen included at least two or three MUST PLAY games. I remember when the SNES first came out. Between Mario world (or whatever it was called) and FF II. I was wallowing around in pixelated glory right from the start.

Leave a Reply

