The bachelor life.

My wife and daughter are away in Florida this week, visiting family. I got to stay home. Needless to say I plan on lounging on the couch in my boxers for the foreseeable future.

This isn’t that different than my usual activities, of course. I mean I do work from home after all – what kind of self-employed roustabout would I be unless I whiled away the hours by doing my best Al Bundy impression in front of the television? Also, I may or may not have eaten an entire carton of ice cream while watching reruns of Cosmos on DVR, but I can neither confirm nor deny that fact. Still, the only difference between this week and any other given week is that I won’t be scratching my nether regions on the couch while watching Disney Junior for once.  Let me tell you, that Doc McStuffins chick is one hot little minx.

That’s right, try getting that image out of your head.

Now that I’ve gotten the Nabokov reference out of the way, this will be both a great week and a terribly difficult one. I have plenty to keep me busy – the lawn needs mowing and I have a swing set that’s been waiting to be put up in the back – but it’s going to be very difficult to not have my wife and daughter here with me. This is the longest we will have been apart ever, and the house is deathly quiet. The idea of sleeping in that big bed by myself is daunting, especially considering how our poor Eden used to sleep with us every night. I might actually consider sleeping on the couch this week if it gets too emotional for me.

But it’s all right – I’m a big boy. I’ve got a big, comfortable couch, a Netflix subscription, and a completely untouched carton of ice cream in the freezer. It’s Miller Time!

Al_Bundy_by_Icedrgn027

4 thoughts on “The bachelor life.

  1. Pingback: The sweetest homecoming. | Amateur Professional

Leave a Reply

